UberStudent Forums
http://uberstudent.com/phpBB/

Resolution for second monitor
http://uberstudent.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1156
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Dre S [ Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Resolution for second monitor

Hello,

I use UberStudent 4.3 with a Lenovo X220 laptop and an HP L1945wv as second (well, actually primary when connected) monitor.
What I can't seem to find the fix for is how the HP monitor has only 1024x768 as its highest resolution (it's should be 1600x1200). I've been with Uberstudent since 2012/2013, and I also use Linux Mint with MATE DE since 2010 and did not find this problem with Linux Mint. I've googled for similar problems and possible workarounds but everywhere I looked around it's a problem not yet resolved.
Is there any possible solution for this?
Thank you very much.

PS: is there any plan in the future for UberStudent to stick with MATE?

Kind regards,
Andre

Author:  Stephen Ewen [ Tue Mar 08, 2016 11:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Resolution for second monitor

This sounds like a job for xrandr.

Please ensure your external monitor is plugged, hit F12 on your keyboard to drop down guake terminal, and then type in and run
Code:
xrandr
Do you see 1600x1200 listed in the output?

If not, let me know. If so, let's try running this line in the terminal before we look at giving you a more permanent solution.
Code:
xrandr --output LVDS --mode 1600x1200
Does that produce the desired result?

Author:  Dre S [ Wed Mar 09, 2016 4:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Resolution for second monitor

No, it only shows resolution from 640x480 up to 1024x768 at 60.0 on VGA1 port.

I also just rechecked through monitor setting panel and the max resolution available from the factory is actually 1440x 900 (not 1600x1200 as I previously mentioned).

Author:  Stephen Ewen [ Thu Mar 10, 2016 4:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Resolution for second monitor

There should be zero difference between Xfce and MATE regarding this. This issue is related to the current version of the xorg drivers not detecting your particular monitor's maximum setting. Below, we're going to work through steps to try to remedy that. Work through the steps only until they ask you to stop.

Run in a terminal:
Code:
xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1440x900
Does the desired display appear? If so, STOP, go no further, and let me know.

Run in a terminal:
Code:
xrandr --addmode VGA1 --mode 1440x900
xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1440x900
Does the desired display appear? If so, STOP, go no further, and let me know.

Read this section all of the way through and make sure you understand what it is asking before taking any of the steps in it.

Run in a terminal:
Code:
cvt 1440 900 60
When you do so, there will be output similar to
Code:
Modeline "800x600_60.00"   38.25  800 832 912 1024  600 603 607 624 -hsync +vsync
Take the info after Modeline and in a text editor form a new xrandr command; for example:
Code:
xrandr --newmode "800x600_60.00"   38.25  800 832 912 1024  600 603 607 624 -hsync +vsync
Again regarding the above line, ensure you have substituted the results from your own machine's output from running cvt, not the line as shown.

Now, copy the command you made from your text editor and run it in a terminal.

Now run:
Code:
xrandr --addmode VGA1 --mode 1440x900
xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1440x900
Does the desired display appear now?

Author:  Dre S [ Sun Mar 13, 2016 2:14 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Resolution for second monitor

Dear Michael,

I already tried all the steps you suggested, exactly as you suggested.
Still won't work, sadly.

It said "cannot find mode 1440x90"

then at the 2nd step "unrecognized option '1440x900'"

and lastly, after inputting (the Modeline and then) the --newmode command, it's as if nothing happened (so, as if the command worked), but when inputting the --addmode again, same thing as before happened.

I repeated the --newmode command for the second time, and this was shown:
X Error of failed request: BadName (named color or font does not exist)
Major opcode of failed request: 140 (RANDR)
Minor opcode of failed request: 16 (RRCreateMode)
Serial number of failed request: 44
Current serial number in output stream: 44

I'm still curious if there's any other workaround.

Kind regards,
Andre

Author:  Stephen Ewen [ Sun Mar 13, 2016 4:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Resolution for second monitor

What happens if you adapt http://stackoverflow.com/a/3414850/3575331 to your situation?

Author:  Dre S [ Wed Mar 16, 2016 11:13 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Resolution for second monitor

I just tried all the possible entries the guys mentioned on that page.

Only when I change the 1440x900_60.00 in all the steps you gave me specifically into 1440xx900-ok
it works,
but only until the next logout.

I have to repeat all the steps everytime I login.
At least it works as a workaround, but a more permanent solution is still out there.

Thanks.

Author:  Stephen Ewen [ Wed Mar 16, 2016 8:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Resolution for second monitor

You don't have to repeat the steps. That's what scripting is for. Please post the steps you take when you log in. Then I'll walk you through how to get it to run on startup, or by simply clicking an icon on your panel.

Author:  Dre S [ Sun Apr 03, 2016 11:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Resolution for second monitor

Stephen Ewen wrote:
Please post the steps you take when you log in.


Is this what you meant?
1) I boot the computer.
2) I choose UberStudent from the available OSes.
3) Loading screen (black screen with the UberStudent logo in the centre).
4) Login screen.
5) I enter my password.
6) Home screen.

Thank you.

Author:  Stephen Ewen [ Sun Apr 03, 2016 1:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Resolution for second monitor

No. I'm trying to help you create a bash script that runs at boot time so you don't have to run lines in the command prompt. What lines do you run to get the machine to work with your external monitor?

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/