UberStudent Forums

Help and Community for Users of Uberstudent
Return to UberStudent Home Page
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:01 pm

All times are UTC




UberStudent Logo Shirt
Hey! You can wear this UberCool UberStudent Logo Shirt

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 2:23 pm 
Offline
New UberStudent User

Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 1:02 pm
Posts: 6
I have got US4 running reasonably well on my laptop but I have found that in order to use it I need to boot into the recovery option, select the fschk option before booting up as normal.

If I don't, I get stuck with a 640x480 display which is next to impossible to use (no other screen sizes are available!).

Additionally, when on the login screen I am unable to change the language and keyboard formats to GB English (or anything else for that matter).

Any suggestions as clearly the fix would probably be fairly straight forward or the fschk option wouldn't work.

Thanks for your help

Michael


Attachments:
hardinfo_report.txt [20.29 KiB]
Downloaded 725 times
Top
 Profile  
 

Get an UberCool UberStudent Shirt!

UberStudent Logo Shirt
UberStudent Logo Shirt by uberstudent
See other Uberstudent T-Shirts
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 5:46 am 
Offline
UberStudent Founder and Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 950
Location: UberStudent Headquarters
To save disc space, all languages besides U.S. English are are incomplete in UberStudent. You have to finish installing the language packs before you can change the default language.

Please follow these directions for language-switching in UberStudent. Doing so will quickly solve your issue and the steps are very easy.

Thanks for straightway attaching info from running hardinfo. :geek:

Based upon the info you provided, your video card is a Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 771/671 PCIE VGA Display Adapter. This is a rare video card that has not been manufactured for considerable time. As such, full support of it has been dropped from recent Linux kernels, where video drivers reside.

Also based upon the info you provided, your preferred monitor size is 1024x768.

To likely fix the issue, please run the following command in a terminal:

Code:
xrandr --output default --gamma 1:1:1 --mode 1024x768

Then from the top panel, go to Settings > Hardware > Display and the 1024x768 monitor size should now be available for you to select (from the Resolution drop-down) and set as default (tick "Use this output"). Once selected, this setting should persist across normal boots.

Does this solve the issues?

_________________
UberStudent Must Become Self-Sustaining. If UberStudent and my dedicated support of it has benefited you, it's important to make a donation. Thanks!

The UberStudent Headquarters:
    * Mobo: MSI 870-G45
    * Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 3.4GHz
    * RAM: G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600
    * Graphics: MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti
    * Drive: OCZ Vertex SSD
    * Case: Rosewill ATX Mid Tower
    * Monitors: 2 x Dell UltraSharp
    * With UberStudent 4.3 Development Build
You should build your own computers, too!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 12:45 pm 
Offline
New UberStudent User

Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 1:02 pm
Posts: 6
Hi Stephen

The language issue is now sorted thanks to your help but I am still having display issues.

Quote:
set as default (tick "Use this output").


Unfortunately something else must be wrong as this option is not present.


Attachments:
Display - 190814.jpg
Display - 190814.jpg [ 47.39 KiB | Viewed 17400 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 5:07 am 
Offline
UberStudent Founder and Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 950
Location: UberStudent Headquarters
What happens when you just select the 1024x768 monitor size and close out of the Display settings? When you boot up the next time normally, does it use the 1024x768 monitor size?

_________________
UberStudent Must Become Self-Sustaining. If UberStudent and my dedicated support of it has benefited you, it's important to make a donation. Thanks!

The UberStudent Headquarters:
    * Mobo: MSI 870-G45
    * Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 3.4GHz
    * RAM: G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600
    * Graphics: MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti
    * Drive: OCZ Vertex SSD
    * Case: Rosewill ATX Mid Tower
    * Monitors: 2 x Dell UltraSharp
    * With UberStudent 4.3 Development Build
You should build your own computers, too!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 3:41 pm 
Offline
New UberStudent User

Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 1:02 pm
Posts: 6
No it reverts back to 640x480 with no options to change to any other resolutions.

I therefore have to boot into recovery then straight back into the login screen for it to change to 1024x768.

Also, as stated earlier, there is no "Use this output" option to tick.

How does the recovery option manage to detect the correct setting and allow the system to use it when the kernel can't? Maybe a script or patch can be created to run just after the kernel is loaded to detect the hardware - just a thought?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:16 pm 
Offline
UberStudent Founder and Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 950
Location: UberStudent Headquarters
Michael_Mannall wrote:
Maybe a script...can be created to run just after the kernel is loaded

Sure, let's try that. Fortunately, UberStudent has a place already set to run such scripts. But before we proceed, please boot in to your machine normally, hit Alt+F2 on your keyboard, and run the following line:

Code:
xrandr --output default --gamma 1:1:1 --mode 1024x768

Even if some things appear displaced, does your screen resolution become correct?

If it does NOT, let me know.

If it DOES display correctly, please take the following steps.

1. Open a terminal and run:

Code:
sudo touch /etc/uberstudent/adjustments/100-sis-xrandr-fix.execute

2. Hit Alt+F2 on your keyboard and run:

Code:
gksu leafpad /etc/uberstudent/adjustments/10-sis-xrandr-fix.execute

3. Add the following text to the file, making sure you hit Enter once on your keyboard so that your cursor's caret is just below the last line (you should have three lines in total including the last empty trailing line):

Code:
#!/bin/bash
xrandr --output default --gamma 1:1:1 --mode 1024x768


4. Now to make the file you just made executable, open a terminal and run:

Code:
sudo chmod +x /etc/uberstudent/adjustments/10-sis-xrandr-fix.execute

Now the xrandr line will be run each time you boot up, early on.

_________________
UberStudent Must Become Self-Sustaining. If UberStudent and my dedicated support of it has benefited you, it's important to make a donation. Thanks!

The UberStudent Headquarters:
    * Mobo: MSI 870-G45
    * Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 3.4GHz
    * RAM: G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600
    * Graphics: MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti
    * Drive: OCZ Vertex SSD
    * Case: Rosewill ATX Mid Tower
    * Monitors: 2 x Dell UltraSharp
    * With UberStudent 4.3 Development Build
You should build your own computers, too!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 1:28 pm 
Offline
New UberStudent User

Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 1:02 pm
Posts: 6
Tried x480
Code:
xrandr --output default --gamma 1:1:1 --mode 1024x768


after a fresh boot and login and it had no effect on the display (still 640x480) and no other resolution available in Display.

Checked the script and it was successfully flagged as executable and located in /etc/uberstudent/adjustments/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 7:48 pm 
Offline
UberStudent Founder and Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 950
Location: UberStudent Headquarters
It's probably running too early then. Thanks for understanding that hardware issues sometimes take some trial-and-error to work out. ;)

Let's try moving the file and running it as a normal autostart program. Please open a terminal and run these commands:

In the below command, please replace yourusername with your actual user name.
# Copies file to your home directory autostart
Code:
sudo cp /etc/uberstudent/adjustments/10-sis-xrandr-fix.execute /home/yourusername/.config/autostart/


# Removes the file you moved
Code:
sudo rm /etc/uberstudent/adjustments/10-sis-xrandr-fix.execute


In the below command, please replace both instances of yourusername with your actual user name.
# Makes the moved file owned by the user
Code:
sudo chown yourusername /home/yourusername/.config/autostart/10-sis-xrandr-fix.execute


Now do:
# Makes the moved file executable
Code:
chmod +x $HOME/.config/autostart/10-sis-xrandr-fix.execute

# Creates an empty .desktop file
Code:
touch $HOME/.config/autostart/sis-xrandr-fix.desktop

# Opens the empty .desktop file in leafpad
Code:
leafpad $HOME/.config/autostart/sis-xrandr-fix.desktop


Now add the following in to the blank file that opens in leafpad, making sure there is an empty blank line after Hidden=false (there should be a total of 10 lines to the file). Where yourusername appears on the Exec= line, again replace yourusername with your actual user name.

# Make the .desktop file
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Name=SiS Xrandr Fix
Exec=/home/yourusername/.config/autostart/10-sis-xrandr-fix.execute
Icon=monitor
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=Application;Utility;
Hidden=false


Hit Ctrl+S to save, then exit leafpad. Now make the .desktop file executable by running:

Code:
chmod +x $HOME/.config/autostart/sis-xrandr-fix.desktop


You will now see a new entry, SiS Xrandr Fix, if you go to Settings > Administration > Session and Startup > Application Autostart.

Reboot or just log out and log back in. Your login window may still be at the wrong display resolution but I suppose we will just live with that, assuming it is usable (and I am hoping it is but let me know if not).

Please confirm whether or not this fixes the issue! :geek:

_________________
UberStudent Must Become Self-Sustaining. If UberStudent and my dedicated support of it has benefited you, it's important to make a donation. Thanks!

The UberStudent Headquarters:
    * Mobo: MSI 870-G45
    * Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 3.4GHz
    * RAM: G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600
    * Graphics: MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti
    * Drive: OCZ Vertex SSD
    * Case: Rosewill ATX Mid Tower
    * Monitors: 2 x Dell UltraSharp
    * With UberStudent 4.3 Development Build
You should build your own computers, too!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 5:21 pm 
Offline
New UberStudent User

Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 1:02 pm
Posts: 6
Unfortunately it made no difference - still 640x480.

I did everything via the Administrator account and it failed to solve the problem in either account.

This takes me back to the programming elements of my college computer course.
Quote:
Thanks for understanding that hardware issues sometimes take some trial-and-error to work out. ;)

Back then we used to write COBOL programs (programming was never my strong point) which would then run on the college Mini computer and collect the printouts from our pigeon holes the following day. :roll:

If the program didn't work, almost certainly because of a missing semi-colon (or something of that nature), you didn't find out for 12-24 hours and had to correct and resubmit.

Not having internet at home (still using the library) and being 'the other side of the World' has a similar effect :)

Still, with all the problems in the world and the hardships faced by so many these days, a little delay is an insignificant issue I can happily ignore.

I'm just grateful for the help you're providing given how frustrating it must be trying to fix an antiquated system 'blind' (it's bad enough trying to solve such problems 'hands-on').

Anyway, aside from any potential hardware failure, this system was designed, built and programmed by humans and can therefore almost certainly be fixed. The challenge is first understanding what is wrong (and you have already found the kernel issue) and working around it.

So thanks for your help :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2015 11:20 am 
Offline
UberStudent Staff
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 7:18 pm
Posts: 102
Michael_Mannall wrote:
after a fresh boot and login and it had no effect on the display (still 640x480) and no other resolution available in Display.

I encountered a similar problem with display resolution in XFCE [which is UberStudent's default desktop environment]. I performed a search for an XFCE configuration file for display configuration using the regular expression '.*xfce.*conf.*display.*'
Code:
damion@uberstudent:~$ find / -iregex '.*xfce.*conf.*display.*' 2>/dev/null
/home/damion/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/displays.xml

I then needed the maximum resolution and corresponding refresh rate of my monitor.
Code:
damion@uberstudent:~$ xrandr | sed -n 2,3p
DVI-I-0 connected primary 640x480+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 519mm x 324mm
   1920x1200      59.9*+

Lastly I used the commandline editor nano to edit XFCE's displays.xml file to specify my resolution and refresh rate. (I show the result below with the cat command.)
Code:
damion@uberstudent:~$ cat /home/damion/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/displays.xml
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<channel name="displays" version="1.0">
  <property name="Default" type="empty">
    <property name="DVI-I-0" type="string" value="GTW-LP2407 HD Display">
      <property name="Active" type="bool" value="true"/>
      <property name="Resolution" type="string" value="1920x1200"/>
      <property name="RefreshRate" type="double" value="59.9"/>
      <property name="Rotation" type="int" value="0"/>
      <property name="Reflection" type="string" value="0"/>
      <property name="Primary" type="bool" value="true"/>
      <property name="Position" type="empty">
        <property name="X" type="int" value="0"/>
        <property name="Y" type="int" value="0"/>
      </property>
    </property>
  </property>
</channel>

Note that your XFCE may not have generated a displays.xml file, so you can copy the above XML code into the commandline editor nano as a starting point and edit the lines containing name="DVI-I-0", name="Resolution", and name="RefreshRate" (and possibly other lines depending on your particular scenario).

_________________
Cybermancy.net - Creativity via code


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Click Here to Get Inexpensive UberStudent Discs


Click here to get UberStudent discs delivered to your mailbox
Delivered Directly to Your Mailbox!



All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group